This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sudanese Provincial and State flags

Last modified: 2015-08-21 by bruce berry
Keywords: sudan | bahr el ghazal | kordofan | bird: walking | camel | dromedary |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Bahr el Ghazal province

Image by Jaume Ollé, 10 Sep 1996

[Bahr el Ghazel province was renamed Central Equatoria in 2005 and is one of ten Sudanese States that make up the newly independent Republic of South Sudan.  The state capital of Juba is also the national capital of South Sudan.  The flag shown here is no longer in use. - Ed]

Kordofan / Kurdufan province

Image by Jaume Ollé, 03 Mar 1996

The former Sudanese provinces adopted flags - as a rule these were monocolour with a local symbol in the center.  The flag of Kordofan (also spelt Kurdufan)  shown here was used prior to the province being split into three new federal states of North Kurdufan, South Kurdufan and West Kurdufan in 1994.
Jaume Ollé, 03 Mar 1996

[In August 2005, West Kurdufan State was abolished and its territory divided between North and South Kurdufan States as part of the implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between the Government of Sudan and the Sudan People's Liberation Movement which led to the independence of South Sudan in July 2011. - Ed]

Upper Nile State

image by Jaume Ollé Casals, 14 Dec 2011

The flag of the Upper Nile region (1983-1991) and later state (1991-1994) has a light blue field with the regional emblem in white in the centre - a cow and suckling calf - with the name of the region on a scroll below. 
Jaume Ollé Casals, 14 Dec 2011

[This state has now been incorporated into South Sudan - Ed]