This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Seine-et-Marne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2016-02-14 by ivan sache
Keywords: seine-et-marne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 77
Region: Île-de-France
Traditional provinces: Île-de-France, Champagne, Orléanais
Bordering departments: Aisne, Aube, Loiret, Marne, Oise, Yonne, Essonne, Seine-Saint-Denis, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise

Area: 5,915 km2
Population (2006): 1,273,491 inhabitants

Préfecture: Melun
Sous-préfectures: Fontainebleau (suppressed in 1926, recreated in 1988), Meaux, Provins, Torcy (created in 1993, but only effective in 2003)
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 43 cantons, 514 communes.

The department is named after the rivers Seine (776 km) and Marne (525 km).

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009

Communauté d'Agglomération Melun Val de Seine

Flag of Communauté d'Agglomération Melun Val de Seine - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 24 May 2014

The Communauté d'Agglomération Melun Val de Seine (website) is an intermunicipal authority grouping 14 municipalities. The authority is seated in Dammarie-lè:s-Lys (20,735 inh.); the other members of the community are Boissettes (426 inh.), Boissise-la- Bertrand (1,013 inh.), Boissise-le-Roi (3,674 inh.), La Rochette (3,042 inh.), Le Mée-sur-Seine (21,083 inh.), Livry-sur-Seine (1,941 inh.), Melun (the most populous municipality of the community , 40,418 inh.), Montereau-sur-le-Jard (588 inh.), Rubelles (1,883 inh.), Saint-Germain-Laxis (543 inh.), Seine-Port (1,968 inh.), Vaux-le-Pénil (10,800 inh.) and Voisenon (1,155 inh.).

The Communauté d'Agglomération Melun Val de Seine was established on 1 January 2002, succeeding the District de l'Agglom&eecute;ration Melunaise, which had itself succeeded the District Melun - Le Mée-sur-Seine in 1991. The chronology of the incorporation of the municipalities is the following:
1972: Melun, Le Mée-sur-Seine;
1991: La Rochette, Vaux-le-Pénil;
1993: Livry-sur-Seine;
1994: Boissise-la-Bertrand, Voisenon;
1997: Dammarie-lès-Lys;
2002: Boissettes, Boissise-le-Roi, Montereau-sur-le-Jard, Rubelles, Saint-Germain-Laxis, Seine-Port.

The flag of the Communauté d'Agglomération Melun Val de Seine, hoisted on the building of the community (photo), is white with the logo of the community.

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 24 May 2014