This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Indre-et-Loire (Department, France)

Last modified: 2016-02-14 by ivan sache
Keywords: indre-et-loire |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 37
Region: Centre
Traditional provinces: Touraine, Poitou, Anjou
Bordering departments: Indre, Loir-et-Cher, Maine-et-Loire, Sarthe, Vienne

Area: 6,127 km2
Population (2006): 580,312 inhabitants

Préfecture: Tours
Sous-préfectures: Chinon, Loches
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 37 cantons, 277 communes.

The department is named after rivers Indre (265 km) and Loire (1,020 km).

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009