This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipalities of Mallorca Island (Balearic Islands, Spain)

Last modified: 2016-03-20 by ivan sache
Keywords: balearic islands | majorca |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Visiting Mallorca in May 2009, I realized that there are numerous municipalities having no proper flag. At the town halls normally three flags are hoisted: the Spanish national flag, the flag of Mallorca, the flag of the Balearic Islands. Sometimes the latter is replaced by the flag of the European Community or that flag is added. I guess that all municipalities having this practice have no own municipal flag. Sometimes I got reconfirmation by functionaries in the town halls. So, in the end, surely the following municipalities have no own flag:

  1. Palma de Mallorca (or Ciutat de Mallorca), as the island and the city are considered being the same, there is no need to have a special municipal flag. Furthermore the same flag was dedicated to the “city and kingdom of Mallorca” by the king and lord Sancho in the middle ages.
  2. Bunyola
  3. Calvià
  4. Sóller

Probably also the following municipalities have no own flag. The information couldn't be confirmed officially and the municipalities had hoisted flags like described above:

  1. Alcúdia
  2. Algaida
  3. Artá
  4. Caimari
  5. Deiá
  6. Fornalutx
  7. Puigpunyent
  8. Selva
  9. Sant Llorenç des Cardassar
  10. Valldemossa

...Sad news from Mallorca. Our last hope would be that all those entities might have only one single flag, which was being washed when I visited the island...

Klaus-Michael Schneider, 05 Jun 2009

Municipality of Alcúdia

Ajuntament de Alcúdia

Alcúdia has proposals for the flag and coat of arms, if I understood this correctly.

Valentin Poposki, 05 Jun 2009