This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Málaga Province (Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2014-03-22 by ivan sache
Keywords: málaga | andalusia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Province flag]

Flag of the Málaga Province - Image by Jens Pattke, 15 January 2002, after Banderas y Escudos de las provincias de España [e9s92], published by the Ministry of Public Administrations

See also:

Presentation of the Málaga Province

The Málaga Province (1,652,999 inhabitants in 2013, therefore the 6th most populous province in Spain; 7,308 sq. km) is located in central southern Andalusia.

Ivan Sache, 28 June 2009

Symbols of the Málaga Province

According to Manual del Estado Español (text), the "historical flag" of the Málaga Province is "On a white background with a blue border, whose width equals 1/5 of the flag's hoist, with the provincial coat of arms in the middle".
The "historical coat of arms" of the province is "The town and castle of Gibralfaro, with the towers on the right and the yard of the captives, the prisoners and the captives shadowed in white and black, near the towers of Gibralfaro the blessed martyrs Sts. Cyriacus and Paula haloed or clad with a cloak azure and a tunica or. On the left, twelve bends in turn red and yellow. In base the waves of the sea argent on a field azure. The shield bordered with the yoke and golden arrows on a field half green and half purple. The shield surmounted by a Duke's coronet."

Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 16 July 1999