This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jaén Province (Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2014-03-16 by ivan sache
Keywords: jaén | andalusia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Province flag]

Flag of the Jaén Province - Image by Jens Pattke, 15 January 2002, after Banderas y Escudos de las provincias de España [e9s92], published by the Ministry of Public Administrations

See also:

Presentation of the Jaén Province

The Jaén Province (664,916 inhabitants in 2013; 13,496 sq. km) is located in northern Andalusia.

Ivan Sache, 28 June 2009

Symbols of the Jaén Province

According to Manual del Estado Español (text), the "historical banner" (hanging flag) of the Jaén Province is "A purple banner with the bottom in the shape of a rooster's tail".
The "historical coat of arms" of the province is "Quarterly or and gules orled by seven castles ot on gules and seven lions gules on argent. Inescutcheon oval argent the Holy Rosary. The shield surmounted by a Bourbon crown."

Pascal Vagnat & António Martins, 16 July 1999